Confessions of a Weary Traveler

©2010 drkate

Colorado River Horseshoe near Page, AZ

I am traveling once again, this time amidst the red and white marbled rocks of the Grand Canyon, on my way to celebrate my mother’s 95th birthday (!).  I stopped late last night on the north rim, stayed in a cheap hotel with the stars so close I could reach out and pull one toward me.  The Milky Way, the path of cloud stars across the sky so well lit, where does that Milky Way lead?  The air, soft and fragrant.

Navajo Bridge, Marble Canyon, AZ

But more than the miles traveled on the road are the thousands of miles traveled in my mind’s wanderings and the writings on this blog.  Eighteen months on a steep learning curve, pacing during the day, tossing and turning at night, the history of 200 years learned in a hurry.  The last one-hundred, the ‘wasted opportunity and tragedy that was the 20th Century’…my whole life asleep during that time.

And suddenly, just as quickly as a storm can come up on the plains, the sky opens up.  I hear and see differently; I feel the weight of the time; the urgent call; waiting for the sign, any sign…

“Coming to your senses” has a whole new context now. Where have we been for so long?

The Road Ahead

I like to see the calendar up on the right hand side filled in every day, and it drives me crazy when the day comes and I haven’t filled it in!😡

But the traveling season has begun for this woman, the Dakotas, Montana, Idaho, Colorado, Utah…a trip to PA to hear the oral argument in the Kerchner v Obama case; and a visit to D.C. to deliver the Articles of Freedom to my two senators and one representative.  I plan to meet with each one of them extensively and press a number of issues.

So while the calendar may not always be full, these pages will not be far from my thoughts.  I know I am gearing up for something beyond what I can even fathom right now. But I know it is about liberty and our Constitutional Republic.

CHARGE!

92 Responses to “Confessions of a Weary Traveler”


  1. 1 heather May 21, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Dr Kate–awesome essay and fear not, we have all been asleep with you but are wide awake now! Please keep up the good work, as we need you right there!

    Have a safe journey.

  2. 2 tiger 7 May 21, 2010 at 8:14 am

    There are times in our lives when things just seem to be on cruise and not much of importance takes place and then there are times like these now. There is that air of urgent expectancy and need that gives one new energy and a feeling of accentuated awareness and spirit. Even at my age, I feel this and it surely seems you feel much the same. We are at a point in our national life that we’ve never experienced before—not even the war between the states was quite this significant. That was an internal growth issue. This is an external attack on our very existence as a Constitutional Republic and world leader.
    As you point out in your itenerary , things are beginning to take shape and the excitement is building. The wheels are beginning to come off the obama wagon , the States are coming alive and the people (the thinking ones) are realizing that there is a serious problem that must be addressed.
    The atmosphere is becoming electric—the fun is about to begin !!!!

  3. 3 no-nonsense-nancy May 21, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Dr. Kate, thank you for the beautiful pics and for the inspirational words and thoughts this morning. You are so poetic in your writing. The past two years have certainly been an awakening for me, too. Things and people who I felt comfortable with are no longer so. Friends and family who I could discuss almost any subject with, now I can’t even mention our political corruptness or the situation of our Union. A very dear aunt who was always someone I could discuss politics with because we agreed 100% now I can’t even broach the subject with. The 20th century was a big waste. We had such brilliant people inventing so many “fantastic” things, too bad so many of them were meant and used to destroy fellow human beings. The world allowed evil people to rule because they presented themselves as compassionate towards others. Now we are onto smooth talkers who say nothing but whose actions make it obvious to anyone with open eyes and ears what they really have in mind for mankind. After this experience that Americans and humans all over the globe are suffering, we will never allow this to happen again. We are awake now and hopefully we can reverse the damage that has been done to us and never allow it to happen again.I hope that our descendants will remember this like we are remembering our founding fathers and mothers and their struggle and thank us as we thank those before us. God bless all of today’s patriots and heroes, like yourself, who are fighting the almost impossible fight to right what has been so badly wronged.

  4. 4 no-nonsense-nancy May 21, 2010 at 10:16 am

    A Texas man with no military experience faked his way into the army as an officer leading troops. Gosh, how can something like that happen?

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_army_infiltrator

    How about faking your way into the Oval Office????????

  5. 5 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Happy Trails drk. happy Birthday to your Mom.

    “Our Brave New World”
    Victor Davis Hanson
    Hillsdale Academy Commencement Address
    May 31, 2009

    Synopsis:

    Hillsdale Academy is a model K-12 school operated by Hillsdale College. In an address to its graduating class of 2009, Victor Davis Hanson encourages the graduates to rely on the moral lessons learned in their families and in their classrooms for guidance and stability in an uncertain world. At a time when once invincible corporate giants are disappearing, when government disdains constitutional limits, and when political leaders often seem more comfortable apologizing for America than defending its interests abroad, Dr. Hanson exhorts the class to remember and honor the sacrifices of previous generations that made possible America’s unprecedented freedom and prosperity. Finally, he urges the graduates to take what they have learned into a world that needs the application of moral knowledge today as much as ever.

    About the speaker:

    VICTOR DAVIS HANSON, the Wayne and Marcia Buske Distinguished Fellow in History at Hillsdale College, is also a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution and a professor of classics emeritus at California State University, Fresno. He earned his B.A. at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and his Ph.D. in Classics from Stanford University. He is a columnist for National Review Online and for Tribune Media Services, and has published in several journals and newspapers, including Commentary, the Claremont Review of Books, The New Criterion, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. Dr. Hanson has written or edited numerous books, including The Soul of Battle, Carnage and Culture, and A War Like No Other: How the Athenians and Spartans Fought the Peloponnesian War.

  6. 6 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    RECENT FLASH BACK
    OUR DYSFUNCTIONAL CONGRESS

    When Senator Evan Bayh(D-IN) announced that he would not seek re-election this fall, he contended that “Congress is not operating as it should.” He lamented that partisanship and ideology have so pervaded Congress that “the people’s business is not being done.” Bayh cited the recent scuttling of a proposal to create a commission on federal spending, and the handling of a jobs bill. In short, Congress is no longer a properly functioning legislative institution.

    http://biggovernment.com/kportteus/2010/04/17/our-dysfunctional-congress/

  7. 7 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    FBI Storms Capitol Building, Reveals 2008 Election Was Giant Sting Operation
    Washington, D.C.–FBI agents swarmed through the halls of Congress yesterday, (April 13,2010) rounding up most House and Senate Members in handcuffs as it was revealed the 2008 federal elections were one massive sting operation.

    “We’d like to thank the many, many voters who cooperated with us to help make this happen,” said an FBI spokesman following the raid. “Thanks to their efforts, we were able to lure hundreds of people who were stealing from future generations to one spot where we could catch them all at once.”

    Several Members escaped through a secret tunnel connecting the Capitol to the Bureau of Printing and Engraving, but law enforcement officials said that facility was in lockdown. Congressmen inside threatened to set billions of taxpayer dollars on fire, but FBI officials said they would round up the remaining Members despite that risk because “those billions of dollars would have been destroyed by the next federal stimulus bill anyway.”

    http://optoons.blogspot.com/2010/04/fbi-storms-capitol-building-reveals.html

  8. 8 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I’m on a roll again.
    This is one for the blogroll drk.
    http://www.freemeninstitute.com/

    • 14 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Beautiful, QL.

      Too be bad only the few dozen of us heard it.

      • 15 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 5:56 pm

        @papoose–I just discovered this vid of Rep McClintock is viral now. I got it from a remote site but even Logistics Monster has it and it’s all over the web now.
        Barfy did this to try and embarass Gov Brewer and to incite riots BUT it backfired hard and will likely propel us forward on this issue.😆
        Did you know that’s one of the rules of the NWO…incite race wars because then after the violence takes place in cities across USA people will be more apt to allow gov’t to takeover with martial law.
        ALERT
        Nutzy Piglosi passed a bill behind closed door in the middle of the night recently that says they can take your DNA even if stopped for a traffic violation. They are setting up the regime step by step. We are not going to let this happen. We outnumber them.

    • 17 drkate May 21, 2010 at 6:03 pm

      wow, truly.

      a quote:

      “Blaming the prince of the fools should not blind anyone to the vast confederacy of fools that made him their prince.”

    • 18 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      how wonderful.

      we should get the date out. let them “continue” it in our faces.

  9. 19 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Kerchner Hearing (6/29/10???)

    mi casa su casa…

    • 20 drkate May 21, 2010 at 5:43 pm

      Yes, I hope there are oral arguments on June 29th. If not, the trip is to meet these two patriots, Cmdr Kerchner and Attorney Apuzzo.

      • 21 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 6:45 pm

        I replied in the wrong place, of course.
        ~

        how wonderful.

        we should get the date out. let them “continue” it in our faces.

  10. 22 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    This one is for drkate’s journey. Oh the days when color wasn’t a daily false issue thrown in our faces.
    Happy Friday Patriots!

  11. 23 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    My new ring tone:

    Trouble me, disturb me with all your cares and you worries.
    Trouble me on the days when you feel spent.
    Why let your shoulders bend underneath this burden when my back is sturdy and strong?
    Trouble me.

    Speak to me, don’t mislead me, the calm I feel means a storm is swelling;
    There’s no telling where it starts or how it ends.
    Speak to me, why are you building this thick brick wall to defend me when your silence is my greatest fear?
    Why let your shoulders bend underneath this burden when my back is sturdy and strong?
    Speak to me.

    Let me have a look inside these eyes while I’m learning.
    Please don’t hide them just because of tears.
    Let me send you off to sleep with a “There, there, now stop your turning and tossing.”
    Let me know where the hurt is and how to heal.

    Spare me? Don’t spare me anything troubling.
    Trouble me, disturb me with all your cares and you worries.
    Speak to me and let our words build a shelter from the storm.
    Lastly, let me know what I can mend.
    There’s more, honestly, than my sweet friend, you can see.
    Trust is what I’m offering if you trouble me.

    More lyrics: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/1/10000+maniacs/#share

  12. 24 drkate May 21, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    A must read on the fakery that is obama and the people who photographed the supposed COLB

    http://obamareleaseyourrecords.blogspot.com/2010/05/dr-polland-aka-dr-pollarik-reports-that.html

  13. 28 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    deja vu

    I am Steve.

  14. 30 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    Whoa!
    Obama’s ‘CERTIFICATION of Live Birth’ form reveals his Birth Registration was FILED in 1961 but was never fully ACCEPTED by the Hawaiian State Registrar’s Office.

    See the lower left corner of Obama’s CERTIFICATION of Live Birth form and the same corner on the other two examples. This indicates there was insufficient evidence back in 1961 to complete the birth registration process. Hawaii is covering this up for political reasons to protect Obama. Only they know the ultimate reasons they are all willing to commit Misprision of Felony at this point in time given the mounting evidence that Obama was not physically born in Hawaii. Obama may have amended his record since 1961 to try to reinforce and cover up the original fraudulent filing. But his online COLB clearly shows that when it was FILED it was never finally ACCEPTED. This is a national disgrace that our entire system of laws including the Constitution and all legal records are being subverted and subordinated to cover up for Obama’s continued fraud on the nation as to his true legal identity. What is so important about this one man that Hawaii is willing to see the nation destroyed by his corruption and lies from birth by his family and continued on all his life by Obama. The man is a grifter and conman. See this catalog of evidence that shows by the preponderance of the evidence that Hawaii and the nation are the victims of birth registration fraud by Obama’s family in 1961:

    http://puzo1.blogspot.com/2010/05/catalog-of-evidence-concerned-americans.html

    • 31 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Yep, its a matter of fact.

      I often imagine his presidential Library in Oahu HA made of Legos.
      at 7:24 pm, when his foreign father’s race was African. LMAO

      Yep, since you said so, stupid.

      betcha it was illegal for a foreign person to sign an American birth cetificate back them 1961 when the world on TV was black and white.

      Bethcha $25.00 that a foreign college “kid” with no papers was not permitted to sign an American birth certificate.

      Show me one other person born in a phantom hospital on August 4th 1961 or there abouts who has a BC with a foreign father/ mother whose race is African.
      Plus, don’t even need too see a birth certificate to know we have been usurped by an Anti American faction.

      hey, how about the other 49 States show me your foreign Father’s signature on your long form BC within days of your birth certificate. I’ll wait.

      Yo POTUS, show us your itty bitty footprints, I dare ya.

      Its a proven fact. His last speech in the Rose Garden showed us beyond a reasonable fact. As did the Legislative Branch yesterday in Congress, our House. Reminds me of the bogus civil rights charade on 3/21/10. Gargantuant gavel, and all.

      The Governments Of Mexico and USA declfred war on the Sovereign US State of Arizona. Its all on video.

      meanwhile, back at the ranch….Shore Bank has been shored up. Move along.

  15. 32 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Shore Bank is the reason why Hillary conceded at NY at the Democratic National Convention in late August, 2008. Without precedent. Ever.

    Now we know.

    • 33 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 9:01 pm

      73 banks were closed this year so far. One in Minnesota today. That’s banks, not lenders. Little banks. You thinking what I’m thinking?

  16. 37 tdr May 21, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    i cant stop…

  17. 39 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    please don’t. stop, i. e.

    I see my life…

  18. 48 tdr May 21, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    ok…one more..

  19. 49 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    Wanted by the minister
    Wanted by the dean
    Wanted by the old folks
    Wanted by the teens
    Wanted by the dealers
    Wanted by the fiends
    Wanted by the girls in them tight, tight jeans
    And wanted by the lawyers
    Wanted by the ballers
    Wanted by the governor who watches people suffer
    Wanted by the princess
    Wanted by the kings
    Wanted by that driver of their limousine

    Your love, your love is 7 feet deep
    It’s 107 degrees
    And I’m walking cause my life ain’t free
    Cause it’s 107 degrees
    And your pain is, is killing me
    Cause it’s 107 degrees
    And I’m walking cause my life ain’t free
    Cause it’s 107 degrees

    Wanted by the judges
    Wanted by the lawyers
    Wanted by the dons
    Wanted by the cons
    Wanted by the mission
    Wanted for the cause
    Wanted by the people who have to pay the cost
    Wanted by the lawyer
    Wanted by his daughters
    Wanted by the victim who’s waiting on an offer
    And you’re wanted by the princess
    And you’re wanted by the kings
    And you’re wanted by that driver of their limousine

    Cause your love, your love is 7 feet deep
    It’s 107 degrees
    And I’m walking cause my life ain’t free
    Cause it’s 107 degrees
    And your pain is, is killing me
    Cause it’s 107 degrees
    And I’m walking cause my life ain’t free
    Cause it’s 107 degrees

    Citizen Cope and sidekick, Alice Smith

    ~
    laptop is acting up.

    ~ loving the music, thank you.

  20. 53 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    For Katerina and her Mother ~

    from a poor and down trodden American neighbor.

    I will carry you through the hurricane waters
    And I’ll remember you in the blue skies
    I will carry you through the hurricane waters
    And I’ll remember you in the blue skies

    Something happens when
    You’re caught searching for an answer
    When you’re stuck in the middle
    Of a place that you don’t belong
    When you start to lose sight of what’s right and wrong
    When we started it was innocent
    ‘Cause when we started it was innocent

    I will carry you through the hurricane waters
    And I’ll remember you in the blue skies
    I will carry you through the hurricane waters
    And I’ll remember you in the blue skies

    Until we meet again
    Until it’s like it was
    Until then
    Until the answers start raining down
    Until the skies open up until the trumpet starts
    Until then
    Until the city and the county ain’t divided
    Until then
    Until the spirit and the mind ain’t fighting
    Until the scenes of tomorrow and today finally play

    I will carry you through the hurricane waters
    And I’ll remember you in the blue skies
    I will carry you through the hurricane waters
    And I’ll remember you in the blue skies

    Thats me singing in the background. I am in the balcony on the one up there.

    Life, it a beautiful thing.

  21. 54 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    yeah, that would be me, the obnoxious…patriot

  22. 56 Papoose May 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    not really. again.

    But I will carry you through the hurricane waters.

    And, I’ll remember you in the Blue skies… too,

    forever

  23. 57 tdr May 21, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    my favorite:

  24. 58 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Holy cow! tdr has me beat by a mile. What a roll.

  25. 59 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Anyone want to guess how many miles drkate has on her vehicle? Those are some pretty states to travel in.

    There’s a secret bunker under the CO airport.

    • 60 drkate May 22, 2010 at 2:40 am

      🙂 I retired my trusty Honda of 11 years, with 315,000+ miles, and purchased a new honda in November, which already has 17,500 miles on it…😳 …the west😕🙂

  26. 61 heather May 21, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Wow wee! MY kind of music, when music was music and not Rap! Awesome.

    Since when does a state make changes to a bc? If there is not a mother or fathers name of it at the time of birth due to the absence of a one or the other-that other has to go in person to the state capitol with proof of ID and show they are the parent or whatever and then the registra changes or amends it and issues and records the new one. This happened to a friend of mine when the husband was in VV and his name was never on the BC. All he had to do (even 20 yrs later) was what I said above. In barrys case his bc is a complete fake—African race was never even considered at that time.

    The state of Hawaii should be held criminally accountable for lying and forgery. The entire administration has committed treason against America and her citizens. Will this ever end?

  27. 62 tdr May 21, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    thanks guys…some fun for a change.

  28. 63 tdr May 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    when the cats away the mice will play…dr k in for a surprise.

  29. 65 heather May 21, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Kind of reminds me of (ready) AMERICAN BANDSTAND!!! And for those of you who are youngins, it was a great dance show back in the late 50s and early 60s!!

  30. 66 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Illegal Invader Facts:
    They implemented Spanish in California.
    1.More than 43% of all Food Stamps are given to illegals.
    2.95% of warrants for murder in Los Angeles for illegals.
    3. Less than 2% of illegals are picking crops, but 41% are on welfare. Some are working in banks creating fraudulent mortgages for illegal immigrants and looting banks.
    In October 2008, talk radio station KFYI reported that according to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, five million illegal immigrants hold fraudulent home mortgages. Estimated damage =2 Trillion. This was done by extortion and protest organized by criminal Acorn-communist Bertha and other communist leaders like Van Jones, Jeremiah Wright , under leadership and finance of unions, Gorge Soros and associates.
    4. More than 66% of all births in California are to illegals on Medi-Cal, paid by US taxpayers who can not afford their own health insurance.
    5. Nearly 60% of all occupants of HUD properties and Section 8 housing are illegals while Americans are losing jobs and homes. This year about 4 millions American citizens will lose their homes due to foreclosure and economic collapse.
    6. More than 39% of California students grades 1-12 are illegals. States are bankrupt now.
    Property taxes are going up and up, people are losing houses because they cannot afford to pay for higher taxes.
    7. 75% of LA’s most wanted are illegals.
    8. More than half of all gangs members are illegals.
    9. US companies using illegals in 2005 profited over 2.36 trillion dollars at the expense of American workers.
    10. US Taxpayers are paying for all illegals including their fraudulent Earned Income Tax Credit.. It means that they get about $5,000.00 on average in additional money.

    Legal Ok. Not Legal, Not okay. If a woman slipped an fell on the ground, a legal Mexican Man would help her up though. Unlike Barfy who was unsure what to do.

    Dictator Caldren lectures America on our white house lawn to ban guns and slam AZ while Memememechelle dances around the Mexican Flag with illegal Mexican children in …was it Vermont?
    Gag me with a spoon.

    LET ME BE CLEAR. IT’S THE ILLEGALS AND NOT NECESSARILY MEXICANS PER SE. I’VE NEVER CALLED THEM WETBACKS. MANY ARE SWEET PEOPLE. MOST WHO COME HERE ARE CRIMINALS LIKE THAT’S WHAT THEIR COUNTRY TEACHES.

    Caldren teaches them how to jump the border and get on the USA dole as he passes out pamphlets with detailed instructions to his people on how to do that.

    Tiny Rhode Island alone has 40,000 Illegal Mexicans in the state collecting on the dole. They are not crop pickers, grass mowers, or toilet cleaners either. Only the best high paying jobs will do for them. The low paying job crap is a lie. They get paid well. I have first hand knowledge. They will not work for less than $12/hr under the table and usually get paid a large lump sum as in “by the job”. I’m not making this up. Most of them get paid more than American workers. It’s all under the table too.

    HERE’S THE KICKER…IF they become legal they STILL won’t be paying taxes. They will be tax exempt as they claim their many children on taxes and then get to pay nothing. Someone needs to give them birth control. I vote for free vouchers to planned parenthood for them and free birth control pills.
    Wabbits.

  31. 67 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    when the cats away the mice will play…dr k in for a surprise

    I came here just to say something about that.😆 She’s either going to think you threw up on her board or that you are celebrating her Mum’s B’day with her.

    38 degrees here at night for a few weeks now. It’s normally 80 during the day and 58 at night. I lost 1/3 of my garden.
    So much for GLOBAL WARMING and it’s almost June 1st.

    It’s moving drkates way on her travel route. ‘hope she has a heavy coat.

  32. 68 Quantum Leap May 21, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    looks like the Alinsky stress has taken hold of this board.

  33. 70 drkate May 22, 2010 at 2:56 am

    The state of Hawai’i absolutely should be indicted for election fraud:

    http://obamareleaseyourrecords.blogspot.com/2010/05/hawaii-doh-destroyed-original-birth.html

  34. 71 Papoose May 22, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Barky bald face lying to our Cadets. He was hissing quite another tune the other day in the Rose Garden with the Mexican president by his side.

    Taqqiya, I presume.


    The Federal Government has a sacred duty to protect the United States from invasion. So much for that notion.

  35. 72 Papoose May 22, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Police Officers have a sacred duty to protect the citizenry from Home Invasion, as well.

    Isn’t that silly?

    Was there a permit issued?

  36. 73 Felicie May 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Happy birthday to your mother!!! Let God grant her health and many more years!

  37. 74 Ginger May 22, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I hope that the next time that the SEIU thugs decide that they want to send their evil message upon someone and enter onto their property that that home owner has inground watering system and turns it on!!!! Watch them scatter like the cock roaches that they are.

    God Bless America and her HERO’S

  38. 75 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    obama dithers stated to the student asking that question . OH stay in school as long as possible . lol . what then means is hell no there will not be any jobs after you get out of school. !! So stay in school as long as possible so you will put off finding out . . What he should have said you have just as good a chance at getting a job ( for 8.00 an hour ) now as you will at getting a similar (8.00 an hour ) job after you complete your degree .!! yes -er-ree bob obama dithers is the man if he can t bankrupt this country no one can .

  39. 76 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    I’m going to repost this on LM.
    Our Idol-Elect
    Is “Liberalism” an Emotional/Intellectual/Spiritual Pathology?
    Our Idol-elect
    Exclusive: Psychiatrist Lyle Rossiter on why so many Americans worship Barack Obama

    Note: Lyle H. Rossiter Jr., M.D., is a forensic psychiatrist and author of “The Liberal Mind: The Psychological Causes of Political Madness.”

    Charismatic, brilliant, mesmerizing. These and other glowing attributions have been assigned to President-elect Barack Obama in a wave of electoral celebration. As he bounds up steps and strides across platforms to roars of approval, tears of joy on ecstatic faces, even swoons, greet his eminence. A harsh political critic, formerly intent on altering his anatomy, now weeps in his presence. A woman widely known for her wisdom dubs him “The One.” The Phenomenon himself modestly declares: “We are the ones we have been waiting for,” though he really means “I am The One you have been waiting for.” With his dazzling debut on the world’s political stage, even foreigners have suspended their fashionable contempt for all things American. Millions now acknowledge a new Idol.

    Of course, there is nothing new about the human tendency to create idealized personas, especially in politics. In fact, idealizing others is part of normal human development. The toddler-age child believes his mother is the most wonderful person in the world. Overlooking her flaws, he expects her to protect him (even if she doesn’t), to meet all his needs and desires (even if she doesn’t) and to relieve his pain (even if she doesn’t). By age 4 or 5, his bond with her will include something akin to worship. In those same preschool years, he will likely idealize his father for real or imagined powers, again, with something akin to worship.

    By their late grade school years, children idealize rock stars and sports heroes. “Overestimation of the object,” as we psychiatrists sometimes call it, is surely present when we fall in love: the newly struck lover invariably idealizes his beloved. In our adult spiritual lives, our reverence for the deity is defined in part by its inherent idealism and by our expectations of salvation. In the normal course of development, we idealize certain ethical and moral principles, and at the core of our patriotism lies a deep reverence for the political ideals that define our country. Idealizing is in our genes.

    If idealizing other persons and things is indeed normal in our human nature, we may then ask whether this tendency can go awry. That is, if we pervert this process, can we unwittingly cause ourselves serious problems? The answer is: “Yes, we can!” In fact, we have already begun.

    When a child’s development proceeds well enough, his tendency to overvalue others is gradually neutralized to become a mature capacity for realistic admiration. Instead of starry-eyed worship of grand illusions, the mature citizen admires and idealizes proven values. He reveres, among other things, certain time-honored virtues and the people who practice them, especially the personal ideals of honesty, integrity, self-reliance, courage, persistence and dependability; the political ideals of individual liberty, the rights of property and contract, and the rule of law; and the ethical ideals of mutuality, decency and charity, among others.

    When development does not proceed well enough, the longing of the child for a benevolent parent with superhuman powers persists into adulthood. The search for an Idealized Other easily contaminates the immature citizen’s judgment on political matters, with grave implications for societal sanity. His wish for a loving caretaker in the flesh aborts his moral commitment to the abstract principles essential to civilized freedom. Instead of seeking through limited government those protections that allow him to make a good life for himself, the immature adult seeks an omnipotent leader and benevolent government to provide it for him. In his fondest fantasy, The Modern Parental State will meet his needs and desires, rescue him from his mistakes and quiet his existential angst; The Modern Permissive Culture will indulge his appetites and rationalize his sins. The Idealized Leader who brings “Change We Can Believe In” will make us all, as Jacquez Barzun observed in “From Dawn to Decadence,” “safe and at ease in a hundred ways.”

    There is more. As Critical Review’s Jeffrey Friedman has systematically observed for years, and Fox News and Jay Leno and have informally recorded on the street, very large numbers of the American electorate are profoundly ignorant about how societies work. Our government-run school systems have committed educational malpractice for decades in failing to teach children the responsibilities of citizenship in a free society, the fundamentals of economics in free markets, the political foundations of ordered liberty and the dynamics of voluntary social cooperation. The uneducated citizen expects government to run his life with myriad regulations, pay his bills with other people’s money and force others to “cooperate” with him for his benefit. Like a dependent child, he seeks freedom from want and risk, not freedom to live responsibly as he chooses.

    Ignorance combined with immaturity can be politically devastating. On Nov. 4, 2008, massive numbers of immature and ignorant American voters failed to understand the ominous implications of Barack Obama’s personal history: his adolescent tutelage with Communist activist Frank Marshall Davis, his 20-year filial relationship with hate-filled Jeremiah Wright, his political and business dealings with terrorist William Ayers, his real estate transactions with felon Tony Rezko, his Fannie Mae connections to the sub-prime mortgage debacle, his vote in the Illinois Senate against medical care of aborted-live babies and his radically liberal voting record in the U.S. Senate. On Nov. 4, 2008, millions of immature and ignorant American voters saw Obama as a loving father of two little girls but ignored his choice to send them every Sunday to hear the vile racist and socialist rants of a mad preacher.

    More generally, the combined immaturity and ignorance of the American electorate has produced millions of voters who understand almost nothing of substance in a candidate’s policy proposals but eagerly welcome him as an adoptive parent. The natural result of this process is a population increasingly seduced by the utopian promises of collectivism. Norman Thomas’ fondest dream, that America will embrace European socialism with all of its Marxist delusions, is becoming a reality. All of this has been brilliantly exploited by President-elect Obama, who has kept his message of change wonderfully vague and ambiguous, for the most part, while presenting himself as an unusually articulate and charming man ready to help everyone in need. With a few exceptions, he has been as evasive about his real economic, social and political intentions as he has been secretive about the political influence of his education at Columbia and Harvard. Having not defined himself clearly to America’s voters, he has made himself into an ideal target on which they can project whatever idealized traits they wish for.

    Mr. Obama’s vagueness has not been complete, however. He told Joe the Plumber about his intent “to spread the wealth around,” and he told Bill O’Reilly that taking money from rich people and giving it to a struggling waitress was “the neighborly thing to do.” But spreading the wealth around Obama-style is classical redistributionist socialism. There is nothing neighborly about the IRS taking one citizen’s money at gunpoint and giving it to someone else, even if she is struggling. In fact, in a May 2001 National Public Radio interview, Obama lamented the U.S. Constitution’s “blind spot” regarding “redistributive change” and the fact that the Supreme Court had “never ventured into the issues of redistribution of wealth and [into] more basic issues of political and economic justice in this society.” These statements reveal the fundamentally collectivist philosophy of our president-to-be and his intent to use the power of government to bring about a drastic change in America. Furthermore, it is virtually certain that he will consolidate a liberal Supreme Court for decades to come. What Mr. Obama has in mind is change that no lover of liberty can ever believe in.

    The prognosis for freedom in America is guarded at best. If a man’s character can be judged by the company he keeps, and if what he says is any indication of what he intends, then a large number of immature and ignorant voters have just elected a very dangerous man to the most powerful office in the world.

    Rossiter’s acclaimed book “The Liberal Mind: The Psychological Causes of Political Madness” more fully explains the consequences of modern liberalism.

  40. 77 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    This is what I’m surrounded by.
    More from his book.

    Like all other human beings, the modern liberal reveals his true character, including his madness, in what he values and devalues, in what he articulates with passion. Of special interest, however, are the many values about which the modern liberal mind is not passionate: his agenda does not insist that the individual is the ultimate economic, social and political unit; it does not idealize individual liberty and the structure of law and order essential to it; it does not defend the basic rights of property and contract; it does not aspire to ideals of authentic autonomy and mutuality; it does not preach an ethic of self-reliance and self-determination; it does not praise courage, forbearance or resilience; it does not celebrate the ethics of consent or the blessings of voluntary cooperation. It does not advocate moral rectitude or understand the critical role of morality in human relating. The liberal agenda does not comprehend an identity of competence, appreciate its importance, or analyze the developmental conditions and social institutions that promote its achievement. The liberal agenda does not understand or recognize personal sovereignty or impose strict limits on coercion by the state. It does not celebrate the genuine altruism of private charity. It does not learn history’s lessons on the evils of collectivism.

    What the liberal mind is passionate about is a world filled with pity, sorrow, neediness, misfortune, poverty, suspicion, mistrust, anger, exploitation, discrimination, victimization, alienation and injustice. Those who occupy this world are “workers,” “minorities,” “the little guy,” “women,” and the “unemployed.” They are poor, weak, sick, wronged, cheated, oppressed, disenfranchised, exploited and victimized. They bear no responsibility for their problems. None of their agonies are attributable to faults or failings of their own: not to poor choices, bad habits, faulty judgment, wishful thinking, lack of ambition, low frustration tolerance, mental illness or defects in character. None of the victims’ plight is caused by failure to plan for the future or learn from experience. Instead, the “root causes” of all this pain lie in faulty social conditions: poverty, disease, war, ignorance, unemployment, racial prejudice, ethnic and gender discrimination, modern technology, capitalism, globalization and imperialism. In the radical liberal mind, this suffering is inflicted on the innocent by various predators and persecutors: “Big Business,” “Big Corporations,” “greedy capitalists,” U.S. Imperialists,” “the oppressors,” “the rich,” “the wealthy,” “the powerful” and “the selfish.”

    The liberal cure for this endless malaise is a very large authoritarian government that regulates and manages society through a cradle to grave agenda of redistributive caretaking. It is a government everywhere doing everything for everyone. The liberal motto is “In Government We Trust.” To rescue the people from their troubled lives, the agenda recommends denial of personal responsibility, encourages self-pity and other-pity, fosters government dependency, promotes sexual indulgence, rationalizes violence, excuses financial obligation, justifies theft, ignores rudeness, prescribes complaining and blaming, denigrates marriage and the family, legalizes all abortion, defies religious and social tradition, declares inequality unjust, and rebels against the duties of citizenship. Through multiple entitlements to unearned goods, services and social status, the liberal politician promises to ensure everyone’s material welfare, provide for everyone’s healthcare, protect everyone’s self-esteem, correct everyone’s social and political disadvantage, educate every citizen, and eliminate all class distinctions. With liberal intellectuals sharing the glory, the liberal politician is the hero in this melodrama. He takes credit for providing his constituents with whatever they want or need even though he has not produced by his own effort any of the goods, services or status transferred to them but has instead taken them from others by force.

    It should be apparent by now that these social policies and the passions that drive them contradict all that is rational in human relating, and they are therefore irrational in themselves. But the faulty conceptions that lie behind these passions cannot be viewed as mere cognitive slippage. The degree of modern liberalism’s irrationality far exceeds any misunderstanding that can be attributed to faulty fact gathering or logical error. Indeed, under careful scrutiny, liberalism’s distortions of the normal ability to reason can only be understood as the product of psychopathology. So extravagant are the patterns of thinking, emoting, behaving and relating that characterize the liberal mind that its relentless protests and demands become understandable only as disorders of the psyche. The modern liberal mind, its distorted perceptions and its destructive agenda are the product of disturbed personalities.

    As is the case in all personality disturbance, defects of this type represent serious failures in development processes. The nature of these failures is detailed below. Among their consequences are the liberal mind’s relentless efforts to misrepresent human nature and to deny certain indispensable requirements for human relating. In his efforts to construct a grand collectivist utopia—to live what Jacques Barzun has called “the unconditioned life” in which “everybody should be safe and at ease in a hundred ways”—the radical liberal attempts to actualize in the real world an idealized fiction that will mitigate all hardship and heal all wounds. (Barzun 2000). He acts out this fiction, essentially a Marxist morality play, in various theaters of human relatedness, most often on the world’s economic, social and political stages. But the play repeatedly folds. Over the course of the Twentieth Century, the radical liberal’s attempts to create a brave new socialist world have invariably failed. At the dawn of the Twenty-first Century his attempts continue to fail in the stagnant economies, moral decay and social turmoil now widespread in Europe. An increasingly bankrupt welfare society is putting the U.S. on track for the same fate if liberalism is not cured there. Because the liberal agenda’s principles violate the rules of ordered liberty, his most determined efforts to realize its visionary fantasies must inevitably fall short. Yet, despite all the evidence against it, the modern liberal mind believes his agenda is good social science. It is, in fact, bad science fiction. He persists in this agenda despite its madness.

  41. 78 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    A teacher asked her 6th grade class how many of them were Obama fans..

    Not really knowing what an Obama fan is, but wanting to be liked by the teacher, all the kids raised their hands except for Little Johnny.

    The teacher asked Little Johnny why he has decided to be different…. again.

    Little Johnny said, “Because I’m not an Obama fan.”

    The teacher asked, “Why aren’t you a fan of Obama?” Johnny said, “Because I’m a Republican.”

    The teacher asked him why he’s a Republican. Little Johnny answered, “Well, my Mom’s a Republican and my Dad’s a Republican, so I’m a Republican.”

    Annoyed by this answer, the teacher asked, “If your mom were a moron and your dad were an idiot, what would that make you?”

    With a big smile, Little Johnny replied, “That would make me an Obama fan. 😆😆😆

  42. 79 no-nonsense-nancy May 22, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Thank you all for the music. I don’t know how to retreive it from utube.

    • 80 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 8:06 pm

      double click on title in white..takes you to you tube
      click on share under the you tube window..highlight the url and right click, save to desktop it’s ez..just like regular saving…

  43. 81 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Or: in you tube, click “share” under the vid box
    highlight url, hold cursor over the highlighted url, right click, scroll down to “copy” and paste in drkates posting box. Voila’

  44. 82 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Go mamabox. I hope she wins. The 2 guys are boring as all get out. Watch Tuesday.

  45. 83 Quantum Leap May 22, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    I meant mamasox.

  46. 84 Papoose May 23, 2010 at 7:14 am

    Good Morning Patriots!

    The President Of The United States said he does not stand with the American People:

    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/juntos

  47. 85 Papoose May 23, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Maybe the two presidents and their first ladies can get together to work on this:

    http://feedyouradhd.blogspot.com/2010/05/presidents-calderon-and-zero-heres-what.html

    Like maybe next Saturday?

  48. 86 Quantum Leap May 23, 2010 at 9:53 am

    The Senate passed a financial “reform” bill today by a 59-39 vote which won’t fix any of the core problems in the financial system, and won’t prevent the next financial crisis.

    The bill doesn’t include the Volcker Rule (it wasn’t even debated), doesn’t break up or even substantially rein in the too big to fails, doesn’t stop prop trading, and doesn’t force transparency in the derivatives market.

    Senator Feingold said:

    The bill does not eliminate the risk to our economy posed by “too big to fail” financial firms, nor does it restore the proven safeguards established after the Great Depression, which separated Main Street banks from big Wall Street firms and are essential to preventing another economic meltdown. The recent financial crisis triggered the nation’s worst recession since the Great Depression. The bill should have included reforms to prevent another such crisis. Regrettably, it did not.
    Senator Cantwell agreed, saying:

    While this bill takes much needed steps to help prevent a crisis of this magnitude from ever happening again, it fails to close the very same loopholes in derivatives trading that led to the biggest economic implosion since the Great Depression…. Throughout this debate I have fought hard against efforts to weaken this legislation as well as to pass language to strengthen it further. But the fact of the matter is, without key reforms in derivatives trading, this bill does not safeguard America’s economy from a repeat of this crisis.

    It sets up a process for responding the next time we have a financial crisis, but it doesn’t prevent this kind of thing from ever happening again. We have to stop these kinds of dangerous activities. We need stronger bans on banks gambling with depositors’ money. We need bright lines – like Glass-Steagall – that separate risky activities from the traditional banking system. We need to refocus our financial system away from synthetic bets and get more capital into the hands of job creators and Main Street businesses. There are good, strong provisions in this bill, and I’m proud of the work we did to get them in there, but I fear that without closing the loopholes primarily responsible for this economic meltdown, we are missing the entire heart of the matter.
    Nouriel Roubini said the bill is “cosmetic”, and won’t stop the next crisis.

    And as I pointed out last month:

    In a letter to Senate majority leader Harry Reid and minority leader Mitch McConnell, luminaries including former SEC Chief Accountant Lynn Turner, former Labor Secretary Robert Reich, hedge fund owner Jim Chanos, former Lehman Brothers Vice Chair Peter Solomon, former S&L investigator Bill Black, former Senate Banking Committee Chief Economist Rob Johnson, economists Dean Baker, Barry Eichengreen and others pointed out that Dodd’s proposed financial reform legislation wouldn’t have prevented the current crisis … and won’t prevent the next crisis.
    Dodd himself has admitted that his bill “will not stop the next crisis from coming”.

    In fact, the bill is wholly ineffective, failing to address the core things which need to be done to stabilize the economy. See this, this and this.

    As I wrote last month:

    Senator Dodd is trying to push through a financial “reform” which bill won’t do anything to break up the too big to fails, or do much of anything at all …

    For example, Dodd’s bill:

    Won’t break up or reduce the size of too big to fail banks
    Won’t remove the massive government guarantees to the giant banks

    And won’t even increase liquidity requirements to prevent future meltdowns

    As Senator Ted Kaufman points out:

    What walls will this bill erect? None.

    ***

    Just this week, a Moody’s report stated: “…the proposed regulatory framework doesn’t appear to be significantly different from what exists today.”

    ***

    In sum, little in these reforms is really new and nothing in these reforms will change the size of these mega-banks.

    Moreover – as Simon Johnson notes – the bill intentionally doesn’t have much in the way of specifics, but just pushes off on regulators the ability to crack down on Wall Street in the future. As Johnson notes, this is a recipe for continued failure to rein in Wall Street:

    If legislation can only empower regulators then, given regulators are only as strong a newly elected president wants them to be, the approach in the Dodd bill simply will not work.
    Indeed, Democratic Congressman Brad Sherman – a senior member of the House Financial Services Committee and a certified public accountant – said recently:

    The Dodd bill has unlimited executive bailout authority. That’s something Wall Street desperately wants but doesn’t dare ask for. The bill contains permanent, unlimited bailout authority.
    And as Arthur Delaney points out, the bill is riddled with carve-outs purchased by lobbyists:

    “Obtaining a carve-out isn’t rocket science,” said a Republican financial services lobbyist. “Just give Chairman Dodd [D-Conn.] and Chuck Schumer [D-N.Y.] a shitload of money.”

    On MSNBC Tuesday morning, Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), a Banking Committee member who worked closely with Dodd, said there was “no question” that Dodd’s draft contained loopholes. Corker mentioned a few hits from the carve-out list: “Private equity firms are left out,” he said. “Hedge funds are left out.”

    The bill is all holes and no cheese

  49. 87 Quantum Leap May 23, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Oh and in case anyone is wondering Dejou won in HI and faces the dem in NOV election. Whoohoo.

  50. 88 Papoose May 23, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I wish these Boyz knew how much I love and appreciate them.

    Reading this particular article gives me Hope that there are people out there who care so much and that “enquiring” minds exist.

    I still have not forgotten the NYC flyover back in April 2009 and no I haven’t forgotten that boy POTUS snuck back into the White House on the Sunday Morning the Polish government was wiped out in one fell swoop in Russia.

    http://hillbuzz.org/2010/05/23/someone-in-the-national-media-is-finally-interested-in-mans-country-in-andersonville/

    Where the hell was the President of the United States when he was at a nonexistent soccer game for one his daughters?

    LIAR. A President lies to the press and they say, ho hum?

  51. 91 Papoose May 23, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Whats the big secret here?

    This stinks. The foxes guarding the hen house as usual.
    Why would anyone vote for a coward like Sestak?

    I voted for him Tuesday, but that was a message to Ed Rendell as respects that fossil turncoat Specter.

    Why are they sweeping this under the carpet?

    http://logisticsmonster.com/2010/05/23/sestak-confirms-job-offer-darrell-issa-demands-info-from-wh/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+logisticsmonster%2FJwGO+%28Logistics+Monster+%29


Comments are currently closed.



May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

PROTECT OUR LIBERTY HERE!

Get Your Copy at drkatesview@gmail.com

Blog Archive

Just follow copyright law and nobody gets hurt!

The contents of this blog are protected under U.S. Copyright Law, United States Code, Title 17. Requests for use of active and archived articles in this blog must be presented in writing in the comment section, and proper attribution is expected. Thank you in advance.

drkatesview thanks you!

Donate to DrKatesView!

Donate Now!

Since 8/15/09

  • 1,852,964 views

Listen to drkate’s Revolution Radio

RSS The Post & Email

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Logistics Monster

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS American Spectator

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Button 1 120 by 90
Site Build It!

