A Litany of Thanksgiving 2014

©2014 drkate

 

Glacier National Park mkalty.org

Glacier National Park (mkalty.org)

 

A Litany of Thanksgiving

Today, I make my Sacrament of Thanksgiving

I begin with the simple things of my days:

Fresh air to breathe,

Cool water to drink,

The taste of food,

The protection of house and clothes,

The comforts of home.

For all these, I make an act of Thanksgiving this day!

***

I bring to mind all of the warmth of humankind that I have known:

My Mother’s arms,

The strength of my father,

The playmates of my childhood,

The wonderful stories brought to me from the lives of many who have talked of days gone by when fairies and giants and all kinds of magic held sway;

The tears I have shed, the tears I have seen;

The excitement of laughter and the twinkle in the eye with its reminder that life is   good.

For all of these I make an act of Thanksgiving this day.

***

I finger one by one the messages of hope that awaited me at the crossroads:

The smile of approval from those who held in their hands the reins of my security;

The tightening of the grip in the simple handshake when I feared the step before me in the darkness;

The whisper in my heart when the temptation was fiercest and the claims of appetite were not to be denied;

The crucial word said, the simple sentence from an open page when my decision hung in the balance.

For all these , I make an act of Thanksgiving this day.

***

I pass before me the main springs of my heritage:

The fruits of the labors of countless generations who have lived before me, without whom my own life would have no meaning;

The seers who saw visions and dreamed dreams;

The prophets who sensed a truth greater than mind could grasp and whose words could only find fulfillment in the years which they would never see;

The workers whose sweat has watered the trees, the leaves of which are for the healing of the nations;

The pilgrims who set their sails for lands beyond all horizons, whose courage made paths into new worlds and far off places;

The saviors whose blood was shed with a recklessness that only a dream could inspire and God command.

For all of these, I make an act of Thanksgiving this day.

***

I linger over the meaning of my own life and the commitment to which I give the loyalty of my heart and mind:

The little purposes in which I have shared with my loves, my desires, my gifts;

The restlessness which bottoms all I do with its stark insistence that I have never done my best, I have never dared to reach for the highest;

The big hope that never quite deserts me, that I and my kind will study war no more, that love and tenderness and all of the inner graces of Almight affection will cover the life of the children of God as waters cover the sea.

***

All these and more than mind can think and heart can feel,

I make as my sacrament of Thanksgiving to Thee,

Our Creator, in humbleness of mind and simplicity of heart.

~ A poem by Howard Thurman, Thanksgiving 1959~

 

 

13 Responses to “A Litany of Thanksgiving 2014”


  1. 1 no-nonsense-nancy November 27, 2014 at 5:12 am

    Thank you, Kate. That is beautiful. Happy Thanksgiving to you and to all.

  2. 2 typistjan November 27, 2014 at 9:31 am

    Thanks Dr. K, that was beautiful.
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ALL!!!

  3. 3 Warren November 27, 2014 at 10:48 am

    Wonderful, thank you. We are so thankful this day and every day for you.

  4. 4 Lauralee November 27, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Dear Lord,

    Thank you for the beautiful lady who sent this out. I give deep thanks for the wonders she performs on our behalf.

  5. 5 Tenacity November 27, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    Praise YHWH and pass the mashed potatoes. This is the only federation wide holiday I participate in any more. May you all be blessed this day. Especially you Kate!

  6. 6 veryconcernedcitizen42 November 27, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    The expressions of Thanksgiving blessings continue on long after the event has come and gone. We’ve been trained by marketing officialdom to quickly look past the one and onto the other, Christmas. The feelings that come when you really stop and consider the events themselves while looking past the unbridled marketing concerns are what’s important. It’s this introspective that awakens our conciseness and we begin to actually think about what it took to place us in this world despite all the evil that lurks around us. We truly are one on this planet. I am a Christian, I do believe and I am Thankful for all that I have been given. My prayer is that for all of us to find true guidance in what we do and that we remember who it is that we are to trust more than any other. May everyone have a blessed Thanksgiving Day and always, always remember the name of the man, in whom you can place your trust, and while he has many names I simply know him as GOD, our Father.

  7. 7 foxyladi14 November 27, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving Kate and to all gobble gobb!

  8. 8 Steve November 27, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    Video – Sadie Robertson Gives ‘Glory to God’ as She Bids Final Farewell to ‘DWTS’
    http://commoncts.blogspot.com/2014/11/video-sadie-robertson-gives-glory-to.html

    ps. Link exchange?

  9. 9 drkate November 27, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    OT–nwo moving on Obama administration

    http://lamecherry.blogspot.com/2014/11/haggling-over-hagel.html

    The only ‘thankfulness’ is that its coming closer to ending this regime and moving us closer to when HE returns

  10. 10 no-nonsense-nancy November 29, 2014 at 5:09 am

    There must be something wrong. Nobody has commented for several days? There are still only 9 comments and it is Sat morning?

    • 11 drkate November 29, 2014 at 10:50 am

      I’ll put up a new post soon. Hope you had a good Thanksgiving!

      • 12 no-nonsense-nancy November 29, 2014 at 6:06 pm

        Thanks. I thought maybe it was my device. I’ve been away from.my computer for a few days. I have been having a very nice time with my family. I did get into a couple of minor scuffed with my libtard daughter over cops and young thugs.


Comments are currently closed.



November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

PROTECT OUR LIBERTY HERE!

Get Your Copy at drkatesview@gmail.com

Blog Archive

Just follow copyright law and nobody gets hurt!

The contents of this blog are protected under U.S. Copyright Law, United States Code, Title 17. Requests for use of active and archived articles in this blog must be presented in writing in the comment section, and proper attribution is expected. Thank you in advance.

drkatesview thanks you!

Donate to DrKatesView!

Donate Now!

Since 8/15/09

  • 1,853,335 views

Listen to drkate’s Revolution Radio

RSS The Post & Email

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Logistics Monster

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS American Spectator

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Button 1 120 by 90
Site Build It!

